CatCalls C25Ultra Smartphone - Review and opinions
Battery
Quick verdict
Can a low-cost handset cover the everyday basics without becoming frustrating as a main phone? The C25Ultra has a 5050mAh battery, expandable storage and a large 6.6-inch screen, making it relevant for messaging, calls and light browsing. Its 4G positioning is the crucial caveat: a UK review reports that a handset of this name worked only on 3G, so anyone relying on mobile calls or data should treat that conflict as a serious reason to choose a clearer alternative.
This is best considered for light use, a family member’s first phone or a Wi-Fi-led backup, where the large display, dual-SIM tray and included case and screen protector are useful. Skip it as a dependable primary phone if you need reliable UK mobile connectivity, demanding apps or long-term software support; Android 12 and 4GB RAM leave little reassurance for longevity.
| Screen size | 6.6 inches |
|---|---|
| Chipset | Not stated |
| RAM | 4 GB |
| Storage | 32 GB, expandable up to 256 GB |
| Battery | 5050mAh |
| Resolution | 750 × 1520 |
Large screen for everyday reading
The 6.6-inch InCell display has a 750 × 1520 resolution, giving maps, messages and video calls a generous viewing area.
It is a practical size for easy reading, though the resolution is modest for a screen this large.
Battery that favours endurance
The 5050mAh battery is rated for up to two days, with 2A charging over Type-C.
That combination favours fewer charging stops over rapid top-ups; actual endurance will depend on how heavily you use the phone.
Flexible SIM and storage setup
Two Nano SIMs and a microSD card fit in the triple-slot tray, with storage expandable up to 256GB.
This helps frequent travellers or anyone juggling two numbers, while the 32GB internal capacity still calls for restraint with apps.
Performance and experience
For messaging, email and a quick Maps check between errands, the 6.6-inch display gives text and directions room to breathe. Its 750 × 1520 resolution works out at roughly 253 pixels per inch, so this is a large, practical screen rather than a high-detail one; a UK owner describes using Maps, email and messaging for their needs, while noting they could not speak to demanding apps. That makes the screen a useful everyday convenience, not a reason to expect premium media quality.
At the end of a day away from a socket, the 5050mAh battery is the most convincing practical asset. The manufacturer claims up to two days, and one owner reports good battery life, but the stated 2A Type-C charging is modest by current fast-charging standards. It suits someone who values fewer top-ups more than a quick recharge; heavy streaming or navigation still makes the two-day claim an expectation to treat cautiously.
During setup, the three-slot tray can take two Nano SIMs and a microSD card together, and storage can expand from 32GB up to 256GB. That is handy for separating work and personal numbers or keeping more media on the phone, but a memory card does not replace internal space for apps. With Android 12 and 4GB RAM, keep the routine to calls, messaging and light browsing rather than expecting a comfortable gaming or demanding-app handset.
Pros
- 5050mAh battery, with one owner reporting good battery life
- Triple-slot tray supports two Nano SIMs and a memory card at once
- Expandable storage up to 256GB
- Case, screen protector, charger and earphones are included.
Cons
- A UK reviewer reports that their handset connected only to 3G, a serious concern for calls and data as UK 3G networks shut down
- 32GB internal storage is tight for a main phone with many apps
- Android 12 and 4GB RAM are a limited foundation for demanding use and long-term app headroom.
Community
User reviews
The positive experiences centre on straightforward setup, an easy-to-use phone and useful battery life for basic tasks. The practical lesson is to keep expectations modest: praise for light use does not settle whether this handset is suitable for demanding apps or dependable mobile service.
It looks nice and handles the Google Maps, email and messaging I need.
I can’t judge how it copes with more demanding apps.
I bought it for my dad. Setup was easy, he likes it, and I’m pleased with the battery life and screen.
Comparison
| Attribute | CatCalls C25Ultra Current | McMgc McM17S | HONOR X6b | Blackview Wave7C |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £67.99 | £67.99 | - | Out of stock |
| Screen size | 6.6 inches | - | 6.56 inches | 6.56 Inches |
| RAM | 4 GB | 4 GB | 4 GB | 16 GB |
| Storage | 32 GB, expandable up to 256 GB | 32 GB, expandable up to 256 GB | 128 GB | 64 GB |
| Battery | 5050mAh | 5000mAh | 5200 mAh | 5000mAh |
| Chipset | Not stated | MTK6739 | MediaTek Helio | - |
| Editorial score | 5.5/10 | 6.1/10 | 6.3/10 | 6.2/10 |
Against a basic backup phone, the C25Ultra offers more practical storage flexibility and a larger screen, plus a high-capacity battery. Choose it for light, Wi-Fi-led use if those conveniences matter; choose a better-established entry-level handset if it must be your everyday phone for calls, navigation and mobile data.
The McMgc McM17S is a close alternative on the known hardware profile: it shares a 6.6-inch screen, MTK6739 chipset, 4GB RAM and 32GB storage, expandable to 256GB. The CatCalls has an explicit 5050mAh battery claim, while the McMgc’s known points do not include battery capacity. Neither profile makes a strong case for demanding workloads; prioritise clear UK connectivity and software support over headline camera megapixels when choosing a primary phone.
Compare with Compare this model This product stays fixed; add a recommended alternative or search another model in the category.
Compare with
Add a second model to activate the direct comparison.
Recommended models
No products match that filter combination.
Is the CatCalls C25Ultra smartphone worth it?
The C25Ultra’s clearest case is light, low-cost use: a large screen, 5050mAh battery, expandable storage and a useful dual-SIM tray. If that matches your needs, compare the current offer with other entry-level phones and weigh those practical extras against the limited internal storage. For a primary handset, the reported 3G-only behaviour is too consequential to brush aside, particularly for navigation and calls away from Wi-Fi. Choose a phone with a clearer 4G track record if mobile connectivity, demanding apps or longer-term usefulness are priorities.
FAQ
Is this suitable as a main phone in the UK?
The 4G claim conflicts with a UK report of 3G-only operation, so it is not a dependable choice if you rely on mobile calls and data.
Can I use two SIMs and expand storage at the same time?
Yes. The three-slot tray supports two Nano SIMs and a microSD card, with expansion up to 256GB.
Review published on